Android
CalendarSync/iCalParse
ContactSync
TaskSync


Privacy Policy

We take your privacy seriously. Our apps only ask for information that's absolutely necessary to fulfill their intended purpose. We and our apps will handle your data with care and use it for the intended purpose only. In addition, the apps do not use any analytics or tracking software.

Exchange of personal data only happens between the app and your chosen sync service. Neither we nor any other 3rd party instances have access to your personal data. All account data collected by the app will be saved on your device only and will solely be used to provide and maintain the synchronization of your calendar and address book data.

Below you will find information on how data is exchanged and used by our apps. Further, its described how, when, and why the app requests specific permissions. If you have any questions or want to exercise your data protection rights please contact us at:

E-Mail:
CalendarSync: calendarsync[at]gmx.at
ContactSync: consync[at]gmx.at
TaskSync: tasksync[at]gmx.at

Android Permissions

In order to provide various features different permissions are required. Some permissions are mandatory. For example, an app that should sync calendar data which can not access your calendars on your device is not useful. You will be asked about such permissions right at the start of the app. Other permissions are "optional" and only required for specific use cases. For example, the location permission described below.

Location Permissions (Optional)

The location permission is not used to locate you or your device. Instead its solely used to determine the Wi-Fi (Wireless LAN) network your device is currently connected to. The latter solely becomes relevant if you have configured the app 1) to only perform automatic background syncs if your device is connected to a Wi-Fi and b) that it also must be connected to specific Wi-Fis.

This feature and thus the permission only applies to automatic background synchronizations. Hence, the app will also ask you to grant the location permissions in a permanent fashion, i.e., also when the app is not actively used but only working in the background.

If the features mentioned above are not used the location permission is not required.

Calendar and Contact Permissions (Mandatory)

The calendar and contact permissions are used to read, write, and manage your calendars and contact (address books, respectively). Those permissions are required for the core functionality of the app to sync, import, and export calendar and contact data.

Storage Permissions (Mandatory)

Will be used to access or create files containing relevant data, such as appointments or contacts, on your device. For example, to directly open relevant files in your device's file manager or if you try to import/export data directly from the app. This also includes features which are used to permit an easy migration from the trial versions to the paid versions. The latter requires to export settings and configurations at the trial version but also to read those back into the paid version.

In addition some of the built in "support request" features will create and store debug logs on your device.

Collection, Processing of Personal Data

In order to sync in the background, our apps need access to your account credentials at any time. Access credentials provided by you or by the sync service you sync to (like in case of OAuth2 authentication) will be protected using encryption and stored in internal databases on the device. Your access credentials are used to authenticate at the configured service only. They are not shared with us or any other 3rd party instance.

To fulfill its intended purpose, the app requires read and write access to the respective databases on your device and to the resources on the server. The app will not read or write data from or to other accounts on your device unless instructed to do so (e.g. by starting an import wizard).

Use of Personal Data

In general we don't have and we don't want any access to or knowledge of your data. Everything stays on your device and at your sync service.

All communication with your sync service will be protected and encrypted by transport layer security (TLS/SSL) unless you choose to connect without encryption. Data read from the server will be stored in the respective database on the device. Local modifications will be synced back to the same server (unless the app is configured to run in one-way-sync mode or you chose to sync the data into a storage - calendar or address book - that is also monitored by other sync apps).

To fulfill its intended purpose, our apps may have to perform name service look-ups (DNS) to resolve domain or service names. In order to do so, it may have to contact a DNS server that's in general not under the domain of your chosen sync service. DNS look-ups don't contain personal data other than the domain or host name of your sync service and your current IP address.

If you contacted us for support or if you've transmitted a log (see below), we may store all communication with you for further reference or inquiries. We won't provide access to this data to others without your explicit permission.

Debug and Crash-Log

To help us optimize the experience, the app may write debug- and crash-logs to a file. Log files are stored in the internal storage of the device. You can choose to send us the logs via email. When you choose to send a log, it will be passed to an app of your choice for the actual delivery. The log is passed in clear text to allow inspection and modification (like anonymization). The log may contain information about the server address or domain as well as personal data like the account name, the email address used to send the log file, or any data that was processed by the app between the start of the app and your decision to send the logfile. The app does not write access credentials (like passwords) of your account to the log.

When you send us a log, we'll store it along with your email address for further inquires. It will only be used to provide support and identify and fix issues. For example, we use the log to give you tips on how to configure your own data sources that you want to sync with in the apps. Upon request we'll delete all communication, see below.

In case there is a crash that's not handled by the app itself, the operating system may offer to send a bug report. This service is provided by the operating system vendor, please refer to their privacy policy if you make use of this feature. If the operating system vendor gives us access to the data contained in the report we'll treat it according to the rules of our own privacy policy.

Deletion

We will delete every item of personal data immediately upon request.

In general, all data stored by the app on the device will be automatically removed by the operating system when the app is uninstalled. This also includes access credentials, all data in the private app space and data by the app. However, there may be certain situations when this might not work properly:

a) You've installed a dedicated workaround app that is meant to prevent the account removal. In this case also uninstall the workaround app.

b) There is a malfunction in the operating system which prevents complete removal of the app data. Please note that we can't be held liable in this case.

Information

If requested by the users, we will gladly inform about any personal data held by us. Please contact us at:

E-Mail:
CalendarSync: calendarsync[at]gmx.at
ContactSync: consync[at]gmx.at
TaskSync: tasksync[at]gmx.at